April 29, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Tuesday - Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book - April 30th


1. YA Romance and Chick Lit

2. Christian Romance or Historical Fiction

3. Christian YA (Non-Romance or romance is not the main theme)

4. Classic Literature 

5. Testimonies/Devotionals


1. Novel

While this is a broad term, I always associate it with femininity and romance.

2. Historical

I have always loved History class (and Channel) and I even like reading history textbooks. So historical biography or fiction always grabs my attention.

3. Christian, Jesus, Bible, God
While I don't grab and read everything with these words, they always draw my attention. I find myself reading the jacket, cover or online description most of the time.

4. Princess, Noble, Royal, Aristocracy, London, Heir, etc..
I love historical fiction. It combines my two faves. History and Romance, so ANYTIME I see any word on the cover or description, that could possibly be associated with Jane Austeneque literature, I am on it!

5.  and Lastly....Love, Heart, Forever, Enduring, Sweet

Any word that describes possible romance.

April 22, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Books I Thought I'd Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

Top Ten Books I Thought I'd Like

Liked More

Liked Less

April 20, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

The Jerk Magnet by Melody Carlson

Not an official review but just wanted to say how much I enjoyed this book. It was so funny and a bit of the unexpected. A perfect read for teen girls in any "clique". 4.5 out of 5 stars.
April 17, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Review: Riding on Air by Maggie Gilbert

Riding On Air
Author - Maggie Gilbert
189 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 2 Weeks (From Chapter 5 on - 1 Day)
Rating - 4 out of 5 Stars

Suffering from Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, Melissa loves her horse more than anything. So much so that endures excruciating pain just to ride, train and compete with him. All too show off a horse that no one wanted, that she knows is so special. Add a hot Polocrosse player that she has been crushing for what seems like forever and some loyal friends and you are in the center of her world.

What I Loved....
I have a book crush on William! He is my absolutely my most favorite part of this book.

Chapter 6. I NEVER go back and check what chapter I am on, but I loved this chapter so much, I had to see. I don't reread books too often, but I would go back to this book just to read Chapter 6.

What I Liked....
Melissa is a believable teen. She's unsure of herself at times, hides things from her parents, doesn't want to be different, etc... even with her JRA I didn't feel pity for her. I saw her as a typical teen.

The book started out a little slow for me and for lack of a better description seemed so wordy. Where a few words would have sufficed, I found myself wanting to hurry and finish the sentence. I found myself saying, 'Okay I get it - Next.'

I don't know a single solitary thing about horses. I found all of the horse stuff making me want to skip (although I didn't). I thought to myself, how I wished I loved horses because the book would have been tailor made for me. But my lack of horse knowledge bogged down the very detailed horse portions of the book. There were times I felt like I was reading a different language.

A few profane words
No sex, but extreme making out
After Chapter 5, the book picks and is a page turner.

Disclaimer: I received this free eBook through NetGalley. I have read and reviewed this book as a personal choice and have received no compensation for this review. My review is my own opinion.
April 16, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Tuesday REWIND

Top Ten Tuesday REWIND -- pick a past topic you missed or one you want to revisit!

Top Ten Books I Feel As Though
Everyone Has Read But Me

1. Harry Potter
2. Hunger Games
3. Delirium
4. Cinder
5. Memoirs of A Geisha
6. Little Women
7. Clockwork Princess
8. Twilight
9. Anna Karenina
10. 50 Shades of Gray (Not My Taste)

I know, I know. What have I read? Don't ask.
April 13, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Go Teen Writers by Stephanie Morrill and Jill Williamson ~ GIVEAWAY!

Go Teen Writers by Stephanie Morrill and Jill Williamson ~ GIVEAWAY!
The question we hear most from new writers is, "How do I get published?"
And the answer is: Respect your dream.

Every writer's journey is different, yet as we've reflected on our experiences and those of the writers around us, we've seen time and time again that those who are successful are the ones who had the patience and endurance to stick with this writing thing. They didn't look for shortcuts (at least, not for long), nor did they quit after five, ten, or one hundred rejections. We can't make the process easy for you, but it's our hope that this book will be a tool you can turn to time and time again when you're thinking, "Okay ... what's next?"
Includes tips for:
- Getting published
- Finding the right agent
- Book surgery
- Thicker plots
- Deeper characters
- Richer settings
- Weaving in theme
- Dealing with people who don't get your writing

April 10, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Indie Life Wednesday 4/10/13

Life has caught up with me and my passion for writing has to be temporarily diminished.

As a work at home mom, writing is such a wonderful opportunity and when I feel moved to write, I take full advantage. That surely results in lots of late nights while everyone is asleep and I have alone time.

However,sooner or later family, laundry, housework and client work catch up with me and I have to push my writing to the side for a little while. When life dies down just a bit, I have to try and get myself back into author mode which can be challenging. I love to write, so I press forward.

The life of an independent author who is a mommy, wife, entrepreneur, bible study teacher and a Jesus Freak - I love my life!

April 3, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Review: Dandelions On The Wind by Mona Hodgson

Title - Dandelions On The Wind
Author - Mona Hodgson
120 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 4 Days
Rating - 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Set in the midwest, Mona Hodgson, takes a simple young lady, a simple farm and a simple family through tough times and great loves.

When Maren arrived in the USA she never expected she would become live in nanny and helper to young Gabi and Mrs. Brantenberg. Destiny placed in this simple place where loves abounds and she grows an attachment, but that doesn't stop her heart from wanting to return to her family.

When Wooly unexpectedly returns from war, he surprises them all and is surprised himself to find a live in nanny for a daughter that he does not know.

What I Loved...
This was short and sweet.

What I liked...
Mrs. Brantenberg seemed so real to me and I could picture her clearly as if I may have known her.

I can't quite pinpoint why this book wasn't a homerun for me. I love romance novels and I think because its a novella I didn't get enough romance out of it. I like being strung along in my romance books.