March 25, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Tuesday - 10 Books I Recommend Most

Hosted by the Broke and The Bookish

Top Ten Seven Books I Recommend Most!

Can You Keep A Secret
Chick Lit Gold
His Bright Light
I cried like a baby
Stealing The Preacher
Fave Book of 2013 so far

Chain Letter
My first book
series addiction
She Walks In Beauty 
Everything I love in 
a book
Eyes On Him 
It's my book, so I am a
little biased.

Mansfield Park
My most favorite book ever!
It also represents ALL the
other Jane Austen books.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/25/2013


Currently Reading 

Dandelions On The Wind by Mona Hodgson

When Maren Jensen took a job on Elsa Brantenberg’s St. Charles, Missouri farm, she never expected to call the place her home. As she grows to love Mrs. Brantenberg and her granddaughter, Gabi, Maren is transformed from a lonely mail-order bride-without-a-groom to a beloved member of the Brantenberg household.

But when Gabi’s father, Rutherford “Wooly” Wainwright, returns to the farm unexpectedly, everything changes for Maren. Despite the failing eyesight that caused her suitor to reject her, she can see that Wooly desperately needs to reconnect with the family he abandoned when his grief sent him running toward the army—and into the Civil War. She also senses there could be something more between the widower and herself, if either can move beyond their past hurts. 

Comforted and counseled by the wisdom of the women in her beloved quilting circle, Maren begins to discover the cost such decisions demand of her heart. Are her choices in obedience to God, or is she running from His plan? Is it too late for love to be stitched into the fabric of her life?


Next Read


A Place To Belong by Lauraine Snelling

The Exciting Conclusion to Lauraine Snelling's WILD WEST WIND Series
As winter settles over the ranch, the Engstrom brothers are much on the mind of Cassie Lockwood. The way Lucas smiles at her should set her heart to tripping. But it doesn't. Shouldn't there be some attraction to him if they are going to be married? His vow to make her love him does not seem to be working, no matter how considerate and charming he is. 

Ransom Engstrom is another matter. After Cassie's train trip to a shooting competition, she realizes she misses Ransom more than Lucas. And then there's the look she caught Lucas sending Betsy Hudson at church one Sunday. Are she and Lucas drifting apart?
Meanwhile, Ransom has discovered that he cares for Cassie but can't bring himself to express his true feelings to her. When she leaves to join a Wild West show for the summer, will Ransom summon the courage to go after her?

March 23, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

ACR: Stealing The Preacher by Karen Witemeyer

Title - Stealing The Preacher
Author - Karen Witemeyer
350 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 2 Days
Rating - 5 out of 5 Stars
The second oldest of four brothers, Crockett Archer, was a preacher on a mission to spread God's word. Little did he know that God's plans weren't that simple. On his way to a job he knew was meant for him, he finds himself in a heap of trouble.

In a series of odd circumstances, or through divine interference, he meets the young Joanna Robbins, daughter of Silas. Silas a hard working, dedicated, family man that is all mush when it comes to his daughter. A man that doesn't like preachers, especially any that she may have eyes for.

What I LOVED about this book...
Silas Robbins is a hoot! He had me laughing throughout the entire book. I absolutely loved him; he is my favorite character in this book.

***Possible SPOILER ALERT**** - I loved the romantic tension between Crockett and Jo. I was screaming at my book, "Just kiss already!" I love romances that tease a little. Made me want to root that much more for them. When he kissed her the first time after finding her crying, I was hooked on *** END OF SPOILER

What I LIKED about the book...
I liked how Silas confessed to his crimes. The author, Karen Witemeyer, could have just let that slide and not made a fuss over it. I liked the integrity she brought to the novel. I didn't see how it would work out, but I liked how she managed to make it believable and not so over the top. ***END OF SPOILER***

I hope her next book includes younger brother Neil. Karen Witemeyer seemed to tease her readers with him and I hope that is a sample of what is to come.

This is my favorite read of 2013, so far.

Disclaimer: I received this free eBook through NetGalley. I have read and reviewed this book as a personal choice and have received no compensation for this review. My review is my own opinion.
March 21, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

ACR: Beyond These Hills Sandra Robbins

Title - Beyond These Hills
Author - Sandra Robbins
320 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 1 Week
Rating - 4 out of 5 Stars

Set in Smoky Mountains of Tennessee in 1935, Laurel is a smart and family loving young woman who is in danger of losing the home and that she was born and raised in as well as everyone who lives in mountain community of Cades Cove.

Straight from Virginia on a mission to get the landowners of Cades Cove to agree to sell their land, Andrew is out of his league. A chance (or inevitable) meeting with Laurel sends him (and her) reeling with emotions. With their opposing views about the Mountains and a lot of other things, a relationship seems impossible.

What I Loved...

It was a love story about a young couple, older couples and with Christ.

What I Liked...

Traditional Christian values. It was a clean novel and the use of scripture was warranted not forced.  *SPOILER ALERT. I liked how Andrew doubted God and Christianity. I liked that he asked all of the questions and made his doubt known. It made his character genuine. That made the novel more real to me. It connected me to him. I wanted him to begin to have faith and when he gave his life to Christ, I was so happy for him. It reminded me of how I felt when I experienced what he had. END OF SPOILER***


The cover is probably how Sandra Robbins, the author, envisions Laurel. But while the version in my head isn't much different, I pictured her hair much longer and fuller; specifically her braid. I imagine a long full braid.

Disclaimer: This AC eBook was provided through NetGalley for free. My review is my own opinion and I was not compensated for my review.
March 14, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Waiting On Wednesday

Title: The Rules of Disappearing
Author: Ashley Elston
Pub Date: May 14, 2013
Publisher: Disney Book Group

She’s been six different people in six different places: Madeline in Ohio, Isabelle in Missouri, Olivia in Kentucky . . . But now that she’s been transplanted to rural Louisiana, she has decided that this fake identity will be her last. Witness Protection has taken nearly everything from her. 

But for now, they’ve given her a new name, Megan Rose Jones, and a horrible hair color. For the past eight months, Meg has begged her father to answer one question: What on earth did he do—or see—that landed them in this god-awful mess? Meg has just about had it with all of the Suits’ rules—and her dad’s silence. If he won’t help, it’s time she got some answers for herself. But Meg isn’t counting on Ethan Landry, an adorable Louisiana farm boy who’s too smart for his own good. 

He knows Meg is hiding something big. And it just might get both of them killed. As they embark on a perilous journey to free her family once and for all, Meg discovers that there’s only one rule that really matters—survival.
March 13, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Indie Life Wednesday

Hi! What a wonderful Wednesday!

My life as an indie writer is rather brand new, so I don't have much experience to speak of. I am learning how difficult it can be to do this but I am determined to give it my all.

I set out to write a Christian YA book for my students, due to the lack of clean books that they would enjoy and it is now a mission and a passion.

I have a soft spot in my heart for Independent Writers, me being one of them. I found a blog who shares the same love I do and immediately signed up to spread the word. Be sure to check out these fabulous writers!

Be sure to check out the Fellow Authors Page
March 12, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Tuesday - March 12, 2013

Top Ten Books At The TOP Of My Spring 2013 TBR list!

Jakobe's Assignment
Jakobe's Assignment
The Fairest Beauty
The Fairest Beauty
Harvest of Gold
Harvest of Gold
A Place to Belong (Wild West Wind, #3)
A Place to Belong

Journey's Embrace
Journey's Embrace
Heiress (Daughters of Fortune, #1)

Dandelions On The Wind
The Big Picture (Katie Parker Productions, #3)
The Big Picture
Where the Stars Still Shine
Where the Stars Still Shine
Leaving Paradise (Leaving Paradise, #1)
Leaving Paradise

March 9, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson

Title - The Quarryman's Bride
Author - Tracie Peterson
345 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 2 Days
Rating - 4.5 out 5 Stars

After tragedy strikes her two younger sisters, Emmalyne the heroine, is forced to give up her betrothed and first love a few weeks before her wedding. After much time has passed and remaining true to God's word and faithfully honoring her parents, she once again finds herself in the company of her true love.

Tracie Peterson did a nice job telling this story or romance and forgiveness. I loved how the scripture was incorporated into conversations and was not sappy. She wrote about true sentiments of what many Christians and lost Christians face. She addressed the issues beautifully with the story.

Disclaimer: I was given this ebook through NetGalley for free. The review stated is my own and I have not been compensated for my review.
March 7, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano
Get Eyes On Him: Spring Love Kindle Edition for only $0.99 March 7th and 8th.

March 6, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Review: Shimmerspell by Kimberly Spencer

Title - Shimmerspell
Author - Kimberly Spencer
88 pages
Time It Took for to Read - 1 Day
Rating - 3 out 5 Stars
Jensen, a high school student, seems like a typical teenager. She has a a best friend that is there for her, a girl that can't stand and she likes a cute boy, typical right? Next level - add a whole lot of faery stuff and things don't seem so typical anymore. Within 88 pages Kimberly Spencer managed to teach me a lot about faeries, have me in suspense and give me the romance I crave.

I love how the story flowed and didn't drag on. The author wants to get you to the good stuff. I like the good stuff. I didn't rate the book higher in stars because I didn't like the use of profanity and SPOILER ALERT...the part of the book where Liam and Jensen get hot and heavy. It was too much for my taste for the age group intended.

If you don't mind my faults with this book, I believe it to be an interesting enough and quick read.
March 5, 2013 | By: Cynthia Marcano

Top Ten Tuesday 3/5/13

Today is my FIRST Top Ten Tuesday Post for Broke and Bookish. Woot Woot! Here we go.

Top Ten Series I'd Like To Start But Haven't Yet

10. The New Recruit - Jill Williamson
Two of favorites - Spies and Christianity.
9. Diamond Estates - Nicole Dell
Dealing with life as a teenager with Christian roots...very interested.
8. Angel Eyes - Shannon Dittemore
Angels, angels and more angels.
7. Faerie Tale Collection - Jenni James
This is more of a should read than have to read choice.
6. Adventure and Romance on British Lands - Therese Stenzel
While this is my number six, I am more curious than excited.
5. Daughters of Fortune - Susan May Warren
Like my historical fiction!
4. If I Never Knew You - Aubrey Bailey
Older selection but interested
3. Delirium - Lauren Oliver
I know. What planet have I been on?!
2. The Glendale Series - Ann Goering
Excited about this one.
1. Angel Trilogy - Elizabeth Baker
Super excited about this one!